It may take time for the 11 government universities in the state to come into existence of the Umbrella Act.

The Uttarakhand State University Bill, which was passed in the Legislative Assembly almost two months ago, is yet to receive the Governor’s approval. The Raj Bhavan is examining the bill keeping various aspects in mind.

The government has taken a significant step towards implementing the Umbrella Act, but it may take some more time to come into existence. The bill brought in this regard includes universities related to higher education, technical, medical education, AYUSH education as well as Horticulture and Forestry education. The proposed Act arrangements will also be effective for all the above universities.

The state government passed the said bill in the one-day assembly session convened on September 23 under the shadow of Kovid-19. It has been sent to the Raj Bhavan for approval. According to highly placed sources, the Raj Bhavan is examining various aspects related to the bill before signing it. The bill is not violating the existing system or sentiment of state universities, it is being tested on this criterion. Raj Bhavan has called top officials of Higher Education Department to discuss several points.

The government has strengthened its position in the matter of preparing search committee and panel in the bill. The Raj Bhavan is also investigating the technical aspects of this point. There has also been a change in the system of selection for the post of Vice Chancellor and Registrar. In the proposed Umbrella Act, objections have been raised on behalf of the teachers’ organizations for non-provision of grants to the non-governmental degree colleges. In this case, there is a churn at the governance level. The new points may also be considered for inclusion in the Bill after consent is reached.

These are 11 state universities:
Kumaon University, Nainital
Uttarakhand Technical University, Dehradun
Uttarakhand Sanskrit University, Haridwar
Ayurveda University Dehradun
Veer Chandra Singh Garhwali Uttarakhand Horticulture and Forestry University
Sridev Suman Uttarakhand University
Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna University of Medical Education, Dehradun
Soban Singh Jeena University Almora
GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar
University of Doon, Dehradun
Uttarakhand Open University, Haldwani

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *