National Parks of Uttarakhand

  1. Jim Corbett National Park

Jim Corbett National Park is the first national park in India and Asia established in 1936 as Haley National Park, after independence it was named Ramganga National Park, then in the year 1957, it was named Jim Corbett National Park after the nature lover Jim Corbett. Given Jim Corbett National Park is 520.82 sq km in Nainital and Pauri districts, its entrance is in Dikla in Nainital district, in the center of Jim Corbett National Park, Pheti Doon is situatedJim Corbett National Park was declared the first tiger reserve in the country on 1 November 1973, this national park is the most attractive national park for visitors.

  1. Govind National Park

Govind National Park is located in Uttarkashi district, it was established in 1980, this national park is spread over an area of 472 sq km.Brown bear, musk deer, snow leopard, black bear, monal etc. are found in Govind National Park.

  1. Nandadevi National Park

Nandadevi National Park is spread over 624 sq km in Chamoli district, it was established in 1982, this park contains Himalayan bears, monal, musk deer, and other wild animals etc.

  1. Valley of Flowers National Park

The Valley of Flowers is located in the Bhundar Valley on the Joshimath-Badrinath route in Chamoli District, between the Nar and Gandha Madan Mountains. In 1947, in his book Valley of flowers, he discovered 250 varieties of flowers.The Valley of Flowers was declared a National Park in 1982 and the Valley of Flowers was included in World Heritage in the year 2005. Nandan Kanan, Alka, Gandhamadhana, Baikundh, Pushpawali, Pushparas and Frank Smyth are some other names of the Valley of Flowers.

  1. Rajaji National Park

Rajaji National Park is spread over an area of 820.42 sq km in Haridwar, Dehradun and Pauri Garhwal districts, it was established in 1983, its headquarters are in Dehradun.

  1. Gangotri National Park

Gangotri National Park is the largest national park of Uttarakhand, spread over 2390 sq km in Uttarkashi district. It was established in 1989.

One Comment

  1. maria wilson April 21, 2020 Reply

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *